Marion B. Sulzberger, MD, Memorial Award and Lectureship

In 1983, Mr. Murray Gruber established a lectureship to be administered by the American Academy of Dermatology. The selected lecturer will receive a cash award of $5,000 and present a 30-minute lecture during the Plenary session at the Academy's Annual Meeting.

Who should apply:

  • The recipient should have made significant contributions to the understanding of clinical medicine via his or her basic research.
  • The recipient should be younger, rather than older, and should still be actively engaged in clinically important basic investigation.
  • The recipient should have proven ability as a communicator, both verbal and written.


Nominate or apply for the 2016 award by clicking on the button above. The submission deadline is Feb. 28, 2015.

Born in 1895, Marion Baldur Sulzberger was the son of the owner of one of the largest international meat-packing firms in the world. An early scholar, Dr. Sulzberger was a fan of the Latin languages and spoke German, Spanish and French. He worked numerous odd jobs before becoming an aviator in the U.S. Naval Service during World War I.

After serving with the Navy during World War I, Dr. Sulzberger began his medical studies in 1920 in Geneva, Switzerland, and continued his education at the University of Zurich.

Back in the military during World War II, Dr. Sulzberger served with the Naval Reserve as a lieutenant commander. He became decorated by both the United States and France for outstanding research and study of the treatment of dermatoses caused by poison gases, burns and tropical skin diseases.

Professor and chairman at New York University-Bellevue Medical Center, and later professor of clinical dermatology at the University of California in San Francisco, Dr. Sulzberger was also adviser to the U.S. Government, founder of the Society for Investigative Dermatology and president of the American Dermatological Association.


The recipient preferably should be a U.S. dermatologist. However, individuals who are not from the United States and/or who are not dermatologists are not absolutely excluded.

Selection process

Requests for nominations will be solicited from the Academy membership at large. The recipient will be selected by the Named Lectureship Task Force and presented to the Scientific Assembly Committee for approval at the planning meeting which is held in the Spring of the year prior to the presentation of the lecture. The Academy will announce its final decision in June of the following year.

2014-15 Named Lectureship Task Force


Scott M. Dinehart, MD, FAAD - Chair
Lawrence F. Eichenfield, MD, FAAD
Ilona J. Frieden, MD, FAAD
Sharon A. Ramier, MD, FAAD
Frances J. Storrs, MD, FAAD
David R. Bickers, MD, FAAD - Advisor
Tracy Farhan - Staff Liaison


Previous recipients


2014: Anthony Eugene Oro, MD, PhD, FAAD
2013: Hensin Tsao, MD, PhD, FAAD
2012: Richard L. Gallo, MD, FAAD
2011: Thomas S. Kupper, MD, FAAD
2010: Andrzej A. Dlugosz, MD, FAAD
2009: Kevin D. Cooper, MD
2008: John A. McGrath, MD, FRCP
2007: Kim B. Yancey, MD
2006: Gary S. Wood, MD
2005: Michael J. Detmar, MD
2004: Paul Khavari, MD, PhD
2003: Robert L. Modlin, MD
2002: R. Rox Anderson, MD
2000: Paul R. Bergstresser, MD
1999: Barbara A. Gilchrest, MD
1998: Ervin H. Epstein, MD
1997: Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD
1996: Luis A. Diaz, MD
1995: Thomas J. Lawley, MD
1994:  N/A
1993: Jouni J. Uitto, MD
1992: David Bickers, MD
1991: Kirk D. Wuepper, MD
1990: Thomas T. Provost, MD 

Year: 2016
Description: Marion B. Sulzberger, MD, Memorial Award and Lectureship
Meeting name: 74th Annual Meeting
Date of meeting: March 4-7, 2016
Location: Washington, DC
Questions: Tracy A. Farhan, Senior Specialist, Live Education
Phone: (847) 240-1485
Fax: (847) 330-1135
Nominate/apply: Apply here.