Go to AAD Home
Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home

Gold Medal Award

Gold Medal Award

During the AAD/A Annual Business Meeting, Mark Lebwohl, MD, FAAD, of New York, was selected as the 2022 Gold Medal Recipient. Dr. Lebwohl is an internationally respected physician, scientist, and administrative leader, as well as a pioneer in immunodermatology.

Mark Lebwohl, MD, FAAD
Mark Lebwohl, MD, FAAD

In his 40-year tenure as a fulltime clinician, full professor and then chair of the department at Mount Sinai, Dr. Lebwohl created one of the largest departments in the country with more than 300 voluntary and full-time physicians and scientists. Dr. Lebwohl began Mount Sinai’s first phototherapy center and added three divisions: dermatopathology, surgical dermatology, and cosmetic dermatology. The department has been the national leader in research/development of nearly all biologic therapies for psoriasis, a tribute to Dr. Lebwohl’s expertise and "know-how." His tenure as department chair ended in December when he became dean for clinical therapeutics at Mount Sinai, where the focus will be clinical research throughout the Mount Sinai system, an area he knows extremely well.

The Gold Medal is the AAD’s highest award and is presented on a very selective basis to acknowledge outstanding and exceptional service in the field of dermatology. Gold Medal Recipients are selected by the president of the Academy and automatically become honorary members.

“I believe my greatest contribution to the specialty has been the development of psoriasis therapies and include teaching my fellow dermatologists about those therapies and fighting for patient access to those therapies,” Dr. Lebwohl said.

  • This year's recipient
  • Past recipients
  • In Appreciation Mark Lebwohl, MD, FAAD

    For your dedication to the pursuit of excellence in medical education, your continuing quest to train the next generation in leadership, your longstanding commitment and leadership at the forefront of management of psoriasis, and as a prolific author recognized worldwide for your works in dermatology.

    In recognition of your contributions to the American Academy of Dermatology, most notably as president of the Academy and assistant editor of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. As chair of the Nominating Committee, Scientific Assembly Committee, and Corporate Relations Committee — to name just a few — as well as a member of numerous other committees, task forces, ad hoc task forces, and workgroups.

    For exemplary service at Mount Sinai Hospital, New York City, as professor and chairman of the department of dermatology, creating one of the largest departments in the country with more than 300 voluntary and full-time physicians and scientists, beginning Mount Sinai’s first phototherapy center, and adding three divisions: dermatopathology, surgical dermatology, and cosmetic dermatology.

    In honor of your many accomplishments, particularly as the first to report the cardiac complications of pseudoxanthoma elasticum and developing new techniques for diagnosing the disease, the first to use immunomodulators to treat precancerous skin lesions, the first to use topical calcineurin inhibitors to treat psoriasis, and the first to identify interactions between topical vitamin D analogues with other topical medications and with ultraviolet light, and especially his cutting-edge research on biologic therapies for psoriasis.

    For your ongoing commitment to share your dermatologic knowledge through teaching and landmark publications, most notably, as founding editor of Psoriasis Forum, Journal of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis, and Skin: The Journal of Cutaneous Medicine.

    For the many honors awarded to you by your peers, including the Founder’s Award of the National Psoriasis Foundation, PXE International Award, the Jacobi medallion of the Mount Sinai Medical Center, Distinguished Service Award from the American Dermatological Association, and the winner of The Society of Authors and the Royal Society of Medicine Book Awards for New Edition of an Edited Book: Treatment of Skin Disease: Comprehensive Therapeutic Strategies.

    In recognition of all these accomplishments and many more, the American Academy of Dermatology awards to you its highest honor — the Gold Medal — which represents the utmost respect and esteem in which you are held.

    1962: Henry E. Michelson, MD
    1963: Stephen Rothman, MD
    1966: Donald M. Pillsbury, MD
    1967: Marion B. Sulzberger, MD
    1972: J. Lamar Callaway, MD
    1975: Clarence S. Livingood, MD
    1978: Rudolf L. Baer, MD
    1984: Walter C. Lobitz Jr., MD
    1986: Naomi M. Kanof, MD
    1987: Rees B. Rees, MD
    1989: Harvey Blank, MD
    1990: Peyton E. Weary, MD
    1991: Robert W. Goltz, MD
    1992: Walter B. Shelley, MD
    1993: Clayton E. Wheeler Jr., MD
    1995: John S. Strauss, MD
    1996: Edward A. Krull, MD
    1997: G. Thomas Jansen, MD
    1998: Harold O. Perry, MD
    1999: E. William Rosenberg, MD
    2000: Alfred W. Kopf, MD
    2001: John A. Kenney Jr., MD
    2002: Mark V. Dahl, MD
    2003: Edgar B. Smith, MD
    2004: Paul S. Russell, MD
    2005: Rex A. Amonette, MD
    2006: Coleman Jacobson, MD
    2007: Stephen B. Webster, MD
    2008: Frances J. Storrs, MD
    2010: J. Graham Smith Jr., MD
    2011: Richard B. Odom, MD
    2012: C. William Hanke, MD, MPH
    2013: Alan R. Shalita, MD
    2014: William D. James, MD
    2015: June K. Robinson, MD
    2016: Darrell S. Rigel, MD
    2017: David M. Pariser, MD
    2018: Stephen I. Katz, MD, PhD
    2019: Jean L. Bolognia, MD
    2020: R. “Rox” Anderson, MD
    2021: Dirk M. Elston, MD
    2022: Mark Lebwohl, MD

    Additional Academy resources

    Return to main page

    Return to the main awards page to choose another category.