Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home

Advocate of the Year Award

Each year the American Academy of Dermatology Association (AADA) recognizes outstanding grassroots advocacy efforts through the Advocate of the Year Award program. The Advocate of the Year is awarded to one AADA member who sets an example for his or her peers by undertaking a significant amount of advocacy endeavors, at the state and/or federal level, on behalf of the specialty. The goal of the award is to promote year-around advocacy and acknowledge the positive effects of a single advocate.

Nominations are no longer being accepted for the 2020 AADA Advocate of the Year.

Recommended award criteria include:

  • Active in state society legislative efforts

  • Involved in DAN calls and action alerts

  • Attended AADA's Legislative Conference or other policy conferences

  • Visited with state legislators regarding indoor tanning, scope of practice, or other issues affecting the specialty

  • Participated in legislative review and legislator outreach on behalf of a state dermatology society

  • Active in state medical society's legislative committee

  • Authored or co-authored bill language regarding indoor tanning, scope of practice, other issues affecting the specialty

  • Called state and federal legislators to weigh-in on key issues

  • Worked with media to highlight work with legislators and state dermatology or medical societies.

  • Contacted the governor's office regarding a skin cancer awareness proclamation or other issues related to dermatology.

If you would like to learn more about the award, or have questions about the AADA grassroots program, please contact Susie Dumond via email at or phone at (202) 712-2611.