Livingood Award and Lectureship

The Clarence S. Livingood, MD, Award and Lectureship was established as a segregated fund by the Department of Dermatology at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. It was endowed by Settler and Doris Giddy in memory of George H. Giddy. The Giddys were both patients and friends of Dr. Clarence S. Livingood. The lecture was first presented at the 1993 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Award: The selected lecturer will receive a cash award in the amount determined by the trustees of the Livingood Lectureship and Education Fund, but it will not be less than $7,500. The recipient will also have the honor of presenting a lecture of approximately 30 minutes in length during the Academy's Plenary session during Annual Meeting.


Nominate or apply for the 2016 award by clicking the button above. The submission deadline is Feb. 28, 2015.

Dr. Livingood's contributions to the field of medicine included participation in the board of certification progression. He also helped to establish standards for graduate medical education and the certification process of the Member Boards of American Board of Medical Specialties.

He received his medical degree from the School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania and went on to complete his internship and residency in internal medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.

After finishing his residency in 1941, Dr. Livingood enlisted in the United States Army where he worked with the hospital unit of the University of Pennsylvania. While in the military, Dr. Livingood co-authored the Military Manual of Dermatology, which proved to be a useful source about dermatology for physicians during war.

In 1948, Dr. Livingood served as professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology at the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, in Pennsylvania. In 1949, he lead the Department of Dermatology at the University of Texas, serving there until becoming the Chief of the Department of Dermatology at the Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit in 1953.

Serving the members of the community through offices held at dermatologic associations, Dr. Livingood was executive director of the American Board of Dermatology for 30 years. As past president of the American Academy of Dermatology and delegate from the Academy to the American Medical Association from 1963 to 1988, Dr. Livingood's many accomplishments earned him the AMA's Distinguished Service Award in 1990.



  • The lecture should present views on the broader issues of dermatology to include organizational aspects, socioeconomic issues, ethics, concepts and features specific to the specialty of dermatology, professionalism and the "art" of dermatology. The recipient need not be a dermatologist or a physician. The Task Force may consider, in addition to physicians, health policy experts, medical ethicists, social/medical philosophers, theologians, etc.
  • The recipient should be a recognized expert in the area or issue to be presented.
  • The recipient must have excellent and proven communication skills.

Selection process

Requests for nominations will be solicited from the Academy membership at large. The recipient will be selected by the Named Lectureship Task Force and presented to the Scientific Assembly Committee for approval at the planning meeting, which is held in the spring of the year prior to the presentation of the lecture.

The Academy will announce its final decision in June of the following year.

2014-15 Named Lectureship Task Force

Scott M. Dinehart, MD, FAAD - Chair
Lawrence F. Eichenfield, MD, FAAD
Ilona J. Frieden, MD, FAAD
Sharon A. Raimier, MD, FAAD
Frances J. Storrs, MD, FAAD
David R. Bickers, MD, FAAD - Advisor
Tracy Farhan - Staff Liaison

Previous award recipients

2014: Jack S. Resneck, Jr., MD, FAAD
2013: Michael E. Bigby, MD, FAAD
2012: Darrell S. Rigel, MD, FAAD
2011: Neil S. Prose, MD, FAAD
2010: James J. Leyden, MD, FAAD
2009: Roderick J. Hay, MD 
2008: Barbara A. Gilchrest, MD,FAAD
2007: Antoinette F. Hood, MD, FAAD
2006: Steven R. Feldman, MD, PhD, FAAD
2005: Peyton E. Weary, MD
2004: Harry J. Hurley, MD 
2003: Marcus A. Conant, MD, FAAD
2002: Klaus Wolff, MD
2001: Lowell A. Goldsmith, MD, FAAD
2000: Capt. Jeffrey B. Ashby (NASA)
1999: Mark V. Dahl, MD, FAAD
1998: Edward A. Krull, MD
1997: Bradford W. Claxton, CAE
1996: Philip C. Anderson, MD 
1995: M. Roy Schwarz, MD
1994: Irwin M. Freedberg, MD
1993: John S. Strauss, MD, FAAD



Year: 2016
Description: Clarence S. Livingood, MD, Award and Lectureship
Meeting name: 74th Annual Meeting
Date of meeting: March 4-7, 2016
Location: Washington, DC
Questions: Tracy A. Farhan - Senior Specialist, Live Education
Phone: (847) 240-1485
Fax: (847) 330-1135
Nominate/apply: Apply here