Go to AAD Home
Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home

Resident Quality Improvement Award

The AAD is offering financial support to residents engaged in quality improvement projects that help meet requirements for ACGME accreditation.

Receive up to $2,000 and recognition for the valuable work that is a required part of today’s training. Funds can help cover expenses of data collection, materials and supplies, and even travel to the AAD Annual Meeting for a presentation.

Selected applicants will be invited to reveal their quality improvement projects at the AAD Annual Meeting.

Resident Quality Improvement Award project presentations

  • Application Timeline
  • Eligibility
  • Award review criteria
  • Recipients
  • June 15, 2023: Application opens

    Aug. 31, 2023: Application deadline

    December 2023: Awardees selected

    March 2024: Awardees present project at AAD Annual Meeting

    May 2024: Progress report due

    All applications will be assessed on each of the following categories:

    • Engages an improvement team

    • Focuses on systems-based challenges and seeks to implement system changes

    • Uses quality improvement frameworks, tools, and methodologies

    • Has a strong focus on measurable improvement

    • Is likely to achieve the project aim

    • Involves diversity, equity, and/or inclusion efforts

    AAD Resident Quality Improvement Awards are open to AAD member residents in an accredited dermatology residency in the United States. Previous winners of this award are not eligible to apply.

    All candidates will be assessed in each of the following categories:

    • Strength of project design and knowledge of problem area

    • Adequate plan and strategy

    • Perceived impact on quality or safety

    • Perceived novel or innovative approaches, tools, or technologies

    • Strength of faculty sponsorship

    • Likely to achieve project aim

    2023 recipients

    Kimberly F. Breglio, MD
    Erica B. Lee, MD
    Nishad Sathe, MD
    Ritu N. Swali, MD
    Mika Tabata, MD
    Michael A. Tassavor, MD
    Paige W. Wolstencroft, MD

    2022 recipients

    Asma Amir Ali, MD
    William Zhang, MD & Divya Seth, MD, MPH
    Afton Metkowski, MD
    Caroline Opene, MD
    Harry Liu, MD
    Ross Pearlman, MD
    Jaclyn Himeles, MD & Costner McKenzie, MD

    2021 recipients

    Sungat Kaur Grewal, MD
    Connie Shi, MD
    Kevin Chao, MD
    Marie Donaldson, MD
    Paul Wirth, MD
    Priscilla Kojder, MD