Go to AAD Home
Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home

Master Dermatologist Award

The Master Dermatologist award recognizes an Academy member who, throughout the span of his or her career, has made significant contributions to the specialty of dermatology, as well as to the leadership and/or educational programs of the American Academy of Dermatology. 

Award: The Master Dermatologist Award will be presented during the following year’s Stars of the Academy Recognition Reception at the American Academy of Dermatology’s Annual Meeting. The recipient will also be highlighted in DermWorld.


  • The recipient should possess a national or international presence

  • The recipient should have well-recognized expertise

  • The recipient should be a longstanding member of the American Academy of Dermatology

  • No sitting member of the Council on Member Services shall be eligible for nomination

Application timeline: The deadline for the application submissions is Feb. 1 each year for the following year’s consideration. Applications submitted after this date will be considered for the following year's cycle.

Apply for the award

Apply or nominate a colleague for the award.

Apply or nominate
  • Selection process
  • Past recipients
  • Nominees shall be considered for selection in the year they are nominated and the following year. There is no limit to the number of times an individual may be nominated for the award; however, they may receive the award only one time.

    2023: Alice B. Gottlieb, MD, PhD, FAAD
    2021: Timothy G. Berger, MD
    2020: Waine C. Johnson, MD
    2019: William D. James, MD
    2018: Caroline Koblenzer, MD
    2017: Jeffrey Callen, MD
    2016: Walter H.C.Burgdorf, MD
    2015: Roy Steele Rogers III, MD
    2014: Barbara Ann Gilchrest, MD
    2013: Howard I. Maibach, MD
    2012: Wilma Fowler Bergfeld, MD
    2011: James J. Norlund, MD
    2010: John J. Voorhees, MD
    2009: Edward A. Krull, MD
    2008: Nancy B. Esterly, MD
    2007: Jon M. Hanifin, MD
    2006: Mark V. Dahl, MD
    2005: Stephen I. Katz, MD, PhD
    2004: A. Bernard Ackerman, MD
    2003: Frances J. Storrs, MD
    2003: J. Graham Smith Jr., MD
    1999: Peyton E. Weary, MD
    1999: Harry J. Hurley, MD
    1998: John S. Strauss, MD
    1998: Aaron B. Lerner, MD
    1997: Victor D. Newcomer, MD
    1997: Eugene J. VanScott, MD 
    1996: Eugene Farber, MD
    1996: J.B. Howell, MD
    1995: Marie-Louise Johnson, MD, PhD
    1995: John A. Kenney Jr., MD
    1994: Albert M. Kligman, MD
    1994: Lowell A. Goldsmith, MD
    1994: Alfred W. Kopf, MD
    1993: Clayton E. Wheeler Jr., MD
    1993: Irwin M. Braverman, MD
    1992: Richard L. Dobson, MD
    1992: Samuel L. Moschella, MD
    1991: John H. Epstein, MD
    1991: G. Thomas Jansen, MD
    1990: Thomas B. Fitzpatrick, MD 
    1990: Robert W. Goltz, MD
    1989: Alexander A. Fisher, MD
    1989: Richard L. Sutton Jr., MD
    1988: Herman Beerman, MD
    1988: Walter C. Lobitz Jr., MD
    1987: Walter B. Shelley, MD
    1987: J. Lamar Callaway, MD
    1987: Harry L. Arnold Jr., MD
    1986: Rees B. Rees, MD
    1985: Harold O. Perry, MD

    No member of the American Academy of Dermatology shall directly contact any member of the Council on Member Services regarding nominees under consideration. All letters of support and/or nominations should be addressed to the Council on Member Services chair at the Academy’s headquarters. Any lobbying of committee members may eliminate the nominee from consideration by the Council on Member Services.