Go to AAD Home
Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home

Clarence S. Livingood, MD, Memorial Award and Lectureship

The Clarence S. Livingood, MD, Award and Lectureship was established as a segregated fund by the Department of Dermatology at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. It was endowed by Settler and Doris Giddy in memory of George H. Giddy. The Giddys were both patients and friends of Dr. Clarence S. Livingood. 

Award: The selected lecturer will receive a cash award in the amount determined by the trustees of the Livingood Lectureship and Education Fund, which is currently $10,000. The recipient will also have the honor of presenting a lecture during the Plenary session at the AAD Annual Meeting.


  • The lecture should present views on the broader issues of dermatology to include organizational aspects, socioeconomic issues, ethics, concepts and features specific to the specialty of dermatology, professionalism, and the "art" of dermatology.

  • The recipient need not be a dermatologist or a physician. The task force may consider, in addition to physicians, health policy experts, medical ethicists, social/medical philosophers, theologians, etc.

  • The recipient should be a recognized expert in the area or issue to be presented.

  • The recipient must have excellent and proven communication skills.

Contact Cari Lamberg at clamberg@aad.org.

Apply for the award

The selected lecturer will receive a cash award and be invited to present during the Plenary session at the AAD Annual Meeting.

Apply or nominate
  • Application timeline
  • Past recipients
  • About Dr. Livingood
  • Nominations submitted on or before January 15 will be included in the selection cycle for current year. Nominations submitted after January 15 will be held for the following cycle. Nominations remain active in the selection cycle for five years.

    Selection process

    The recipient will be selected by the Named Lectureship Task Force and presented to the Scientific Assembly Committee for approval at the planning meeting, which is held in the spring of the year prior to the presentation of the lecture. The Academy will announce its final decision in June of the following year.

    Named Lectureship Task Force
    Kevin D. Cooper, MD, FAAD, Chair, 2025
    Jo-David Fine, MD, MPH, FAAD, Deputy Chair, 2025
    Emily Y. Chu, MD, PhD, FAAD, Member, 2025
    Robyn D. Siperstein, MD, FAAD, Member, 2024
    Bruce Harris Thiers, MD, FAAD, Member, 2025
    Janelle Pavlis, MD, FAAD, Member, 2025
    David Rosmarin, MD, FAAD, Member, 2026

    2023: Jane M. Grant-Kels, MD, FAAD

    2022: Amit G. Pandya, MD, FAAD

    2021: Karen Edison, MD, FAAD

    2020: n/a

    2019: Boris D. Lushniak, MD, MPH

    2018: Mary-Margaret  Chren,  MD,  FAAD

    2017: Carrie Kovarik, MD, FAAD

    2016: Amy Paller, MS, MD, FAAD

    2015: Bruce Wintroub, MD, FAAD

    2014: Jack S. Resneck Jr., MD, FAAD

    2013: Michael E. Bigby, MD, FAAD

    2012: Darrell S. Rigel, MD, FAAD

    2011: Neil S. Prose, MD, FAAD

    2010: James J. Leyden, MD, FAAD

    2009: Roderick J. Hay, MD 

    2008: Barbara A. Gilchrest, MD,FAAD

    2007: Antoinette F. Hood, MD, FAAD

    2006: Steven R. Feldman, MD, PhD, FAAD

    2005: Peyton E. Weary, MD

    2004: Harry J. Hurley, MD 

    2003: Marcus A. Conant, MD, FAAD

    2002: Klaus Wolff, MD

    2001: Lowell A. Goldsmith, MD, FAAD

    2000: Capt. Jeffrey B. Ashby (NASA)

    1999: Mark V. Dahl, MD, FAAD

    1998: Edward A. Krull, MD

    1997: Bradford W. Claxton, CAE

    1996: Philip C. Anderson, MD 

    1995: M. Roy Schwarz, MD

    1994: Irwin M. Freedberg, MD

    1993: John S. Strauss, MD, FAAD

    Dr. Livingood's contributions to the field of medicine included participation in the board of certification progression. He also helped to establish standards for graduate medical education and the certification process of the Member Boards of American Board of Medical Specialties.

    He received his medical degree from the School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania and went on to complete his internship and residency in internal medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.

    After finishing his residency in 1941, Dr. Livingood enlisted in the United States Army where he worked with the hospital unit of the University of Pennsylvania. While in the military, Dr. Livingood co-authored the Military Manual of Dermatology, which proved to be a useful source about dermatology for physicians during war.

    In 1948, Dr. Livingood served as professor and chairman of the Department of Dermatology at the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, in Pennsylvania. In 1949, he lead the Department of Dermatology at the University of Texas, serving there until becoming the Chief of the Department of Dermatology at the Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit in 1953.

    Serving the members of the community through offices held at dermatologic associations, Dr. Livingood was executive director of the American Board of Dermatology for 30 years. As past president of the American Academy of Dermatology and delegate from the Academy to the American Medical Association from 1963 to 1988, Dr. Livingood's many accomplishments earned him the AMA's Distinguished Service Award in 1990.