Go to AAD Home
Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home
Welcome!
Advertisement
Advertisement

Regulatory, payer, and state advocacy


The American Academy of Dermatology Association advocates on issues and prioritizes work on those that are most pressing and impactful for our membership.

Learn more about Medicare Physician Payment Reform.

Other advocacy areas: (issues are listed in alphabetically and not order of priority)

Compounding: Guarding against restrictions on dermatologists’ ability to prepare, administer, and prescribe compounded medications, including buffered lidocaine.

Dermatology workforce: Working to ensure the number of dermatologists is sufficient to meet the demand of an aging and diverse population and advocating to ease the physician shortage, e.g., increase residency slots, and encourage dermatologists to practice in underserved communities.

Dermatopathology: Fighting for the rights of dermatology practices to process and/or read their own slides and to refer specimens to their dermatopathologist of choice.

Diversity, equity, and inclusion: Advocating for policies that further health equity and dermatology workforce diversity and decrease care disparities for skin of color and other marginalized patients.

Drug access: Minimizing or eliminating barriers to medications, including step therapy and prior authorization policies, iPLEDGE, and drug formulary requirements that force patients to switch therapies, as well as supporting policies to address rising drug prices, drug shortages, research funding, and price transparency.

Network transparency: Promoting transparency in provider networks, including ensuring adequate and accurate information about provider directories for private and public payers.

Physician-led care and scope of practice: Working with all stake holders to help appropriately define the practice of medicine, to ensure a physician-led, team-based approach to care.

Quality payments: Reforms the Quality Payment Program to increase physicians’ input and improve patient care without administrative burden.

Skin cancer prevention: Advocating for laws that promote skin cancer prevention and sun screen access.

Teledermatology: Supporting policies that facilitate the appropriate use of telehealth services according to the AADA standards to meet patient needs, particularly in underserved communities across the country.

Truth in advertising: Advocating to ensure truth in advertising that helps vulnerable populations better understand who is providing their care.

Veteran and military access: Ensuring that our nation’s military and veterans have access to the full range of dermatologic services provided by board-certified dermatologists.


Advocacy contacts

Karry La Violette, Senior Vice President Advocacy & Policy 
(202) 609-2602
klaviolette@aad.org

Beth Laws, Director, Advocacy & Policy Operations
(202) 712-2600
blaws@aad.org

Heather Schultz, Manager, Advocacy & Policy
(202) 712-2618
hschultz@aad.org

Federal legislative, political & grassroots advocacy staff:

Adam Harbison, Director, Congressional Affairs
(202) 712-2601
aharbison@aad.org

Liz Demorest, Associate Director, Political & External Affairs
(202) 712-2612
ldemorest@aad.org

Christine O’Connor, Associate Director, Congressional Affairs
(202) 609-6330
coconnor@aad.org

Nick Beek, Assistant Director, Congressional Affairs
(202) 712-2617
nbeek@aad.org

Jennifer Mangone, Manager, Congressional Policy
(202) 609-3333
jmangone@aad.org

Hannah Calvert, Senior Specialist, Political & Grassroots Advocacy
(202) 609-6336
hcalvert@aad.org

Regulatory & payment policy staff:

Chad Appel, Director, Regulatory & Payment Policy
(202) 712-2614
CAppel@aad.org

Louis A. Terranova, Associate Director, Practice & Payment Policy
(847) 240-1465
lterranova@aad.org

Jillian Winans, Associate Director, Regulatory & Payment Policy
(202) 712-2603
jwinans@aad.org

Teresa Salaway, Manager, Practice & Payment Policy
(847) 240-1695
tsalaway@aad.org

State policy staff:

Lisa Albany, Director, State Policy
(202) 712-2615
lalbany@aad.org

Victoria Pasko, Assistant Director, State Policy
(202) 609-6331
vpasko@aad.org

Sandra Ring, Senior Manager, State Society & Patient Engagement
(224) 715-5935
sring@aad.org

Advertisement