How to make a successful transition to ICD-10-CM

icon test
Prep steps
Calendar icon rv
Rollout calendar
  maze icon
Learn code
 bullseye icon
Test claims

ICD-10 implementation delayed to October 2015

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has announced that the new ICD-10-CM implementation deadline is October 1, 2015.
DHHS expects to release an interim final rule in the near future that will include language on the new compliance date requiring the use of ICD-10 beginning October 1, 2015. The rule will also require HIPAA covered entities to continue to use ICD-9-CM through September 30, 2015.

A delay in ICD-10 implementation was included as a provision in the Protecting Access to Medicare Act, (HR 4302) which was passed by both the U.S. House of Representatives, the Senate, and signed into law by President Obama.
For more information, please visit   

ICD-10 External Testing Opportunities

United Healthcare -  

Aetna – contact provider relations to check eligibility

BCBS - contact provider relations to check eligibility

Humana -


Watch this page for new information on ICD-10

The Academy is actively compiling information on new claims testing opportunities for members. In addition, in the coming weeks, the Academy will revise content in this section to help members prepare for the new implementation deadline.

Q: What changes can I expect when using the new ICD-10-CM codes?

A: ICD-10-CM is not just an update of ICD-9-CM codes. It is a restructuring of the diagnosis classification system with a significant increase in the number of codes, expanded code lengths, and narrative descriptions, allowing for greater granularity. Dermatology alone is moving from 9,000+ ICD-9-CM codes to more than 22,000+ codes in ICD-10-CM.

Q: When is the ICD-10-CM compliance deadline?

A: The compliance deadline for ICD-10-CM is Oct. 1, 2015. All Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)-covered entities with transactions that have dates of service on or after Oct. 1, 2015 must be submitted using ICD-10-CM.

Q: What does ICD-10-CM compliance mean?

A: ICD-10-CM compliance means that all HIPAA-covered entities must implement ICD-10-CM for use in standard electronic transactions (including but not limited to claims) for health care services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2015.

Q: Who is affected by the transition to ICD-10? If I don’t deal with Medicare claims, will I have to transition?

A: Everyone covered by HIPAA must use ICD-10-CM starting Oct. 1, 2015. This includes health care providers and payers who do not deal with Medicare claims. Organizations that are not covered by HIPAA, but use ICD-9-CM codes should be aware that their coding may become obsolete if they do not transition to ICD-10-CM.

Q: What happens if I don’t switch to ICD-10-CM?

A: If you don’t transition to ICD-10-CM, all your claims for all health care services performed on or after Oct. 1, 2015, will not be processed, therefore risking claim denials.NOTE: Claims for services provided before Oct. 1, 2015, must use ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes.