30 March 2011

American Academy of Dermatology elects officers and board members

SCHAUMBURG, ILL. (March 30, 2011) —The American Academy of Dermatology (Academy) today announced the results of its annual election. The Academy’s newly elected officers and members of its board of directors will lead the world’s largest dermatologic society, representing more than 17,000 physicians specializing in the diagnosis and medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of skin, hair and nail conditions. The newly elected officers and board members also will hold the same positions for the American Academy of Dermatology Association. Terms of office begin in March 2013.

Dermatologist Dirk M. Elston, MD, FAAD, was elected president. Dr. Elston a past director of dermatology at Geisinger Medical Center in Danville, Pa., and will be director of the Ackerman Academy of Dermatopathology in New York beginning this summer. He is currently deputy editor of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology and has served as a member of the Academy’s board of directors and on several committees. He also serves on the board of directors for the American Society of Dermatopathology and the executive committee of the International Society of Dermatopathology.

Darryl M. Bronson, MD, MPH, FAAD, a Highland Park, Ill., dermatologist in private practice, was elected vice president. Dr. Bronson is past chairman and residency program director of dermatology at John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County in Chicago. An active member of the Academy, he has served on the board of directors and a number of committees and task forces. In addition, Dr. Bronson is past president of the Noah Worcester Dermatological Society, the Illinois Dermatological Society and the Chicago Dermatological Society.

Both Dr. Elston and Dr. Bronson will be installed as president-elect and vice president-elect, respectively, in March 2012. Their one-year tenure as president and vice president begins in March 2013.

Board of Directors
Stephen H. Mandy, MD, FAAD, Jack S. Resneck, Jr., MD, FAAD, Kathryn Schwarzenberger, MD, FAAD, and Abel Torres, MD, JD, FAAD, have been elected to the Academy’s board of directors. They will each serve a four-year term that will begin at the conclusion of the Academy’s 70th Annual Meeting in March 2012.

Stephen H. Mandy, MD, FAAD, is a volunteer clinical professor of dermatology at the University of Miami School of Medicine. He is a past president of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and is a founding member and past president of the Florida Society of Dermatologic Surgeons.

Jack S. Resneck, Jr., MD, FAAD, is an associate professor of dermatology and health policy at University of California, San Francisco. He currently serves as chair of the Academy’s council on government affairs, health policy, and practice. In addition, he is a member of the board of directors for the California Society of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery.

Kathryn Schwarzenberger, MD, FAAD, is an associate professor of medicine (dermatology) at University of Vermont College of Medicine in Burlington, Vt. She currently serves as chair of the Academy’s health care delivery committee. She also is a past president of the Vermont Dermatologic Society and a past secretary for the Women’s Dermatologic Society.

Abel Torres, MD, JD, FAAD, is professor and chairman of dermatology and associate professor of public health at Loma Linda University School of Medicine in Loma Linda, Calif. He has served on a number of Academy committees and task forces.

Headquartered in Schaumburg, Ill., the American Academy of Dermatology, founded in 1938, is the largest, most influential, and most representative of all dermatologic associations. A sister organization to the Academy, the American Academy of Dermatology Association is the resource for government affairs, health policy and practice information for dermatologists, and plays a major role in formulating policies that can enhance the quality of dermatologic care. With a membership of more than 17,000 physicians worldwide, the Academy is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin. For more information, contact the Academy at (888) 462-DERM (3376) or visit