22 April 2013

American Academy of Dermatology elects new officers and board members in annual election

SCHAUMBURG, Ill. (April 22, 2013) —The American Academy of Dermatology (Academy) has announced the results of its annual election. The Academy’s newly elected officers and members of its board of directors will lead the world’s largest dermatologic society, representing more than 17,000 physicians specializing in the diagnosis and medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of skin, hair and nail conditions. The newly elected officers and board members also will hold the same positions for the American Academy of Dermatology Association. Terms of office begin in March 2014. 

Mark Lebwohl, MD, FAAD, a New York -based dermatologist was elected president. Dr. Lebwohl is the Soll and Clara Kest Professor and Chairman at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York. He is a current member of the Academy’s board of directors and former chair of the Scientific Assembly Committee. In addition, he is past-president of the Manhattan-Metropolitan Dermatological Society, NY State Society of Dermatology and NY Dermatological Society.

Timothy G. Berger, MD, FAAD, was elected vice president. Dr. Berger is executive vice-chair for the department of dermatology at the University of California, San Francisco, and endowed chair in dermatology medical student education. He is a past member of the Academy’s board of directors. 
Both Drs. Lebwohl and Berger will be installed as president-elect and vice president-elect, respectively, in March 2014. Their one-year tenure as president and vice president begins in March 2015.

Board of Directors
Kevin D. Cooper, MD, FAAD, Jane M. Grant-Kels, MD, FAAD, Neal D. Bhatia, MD, FAAD, and Sheila Fallon Friedlander, MD, FAAD, have been elected to the Academy’s board of directors. They will each serve a four-year term that will begin at the conclusion of the Academy’s 72nd Annual Meeting in March 2014.

Kevin D. Cooper, MD, FAAD, is a professor and chair of the dermatology department at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. He currently serves as the Academy’s chair of the Council on Science and Research. In addition, he is past president of the Association of Professors of Dermatology, and the Society for Investigative Dermatology.

Jane M. Grant-Kels, MD, FAAD, is a professor and chair for the department of dermatology at the University of Connecticut Health Center in Farmington, Conn. She also is director of the university’s dermatopathology laboratory, cutaneous oncology center, melanoma program, and its dermatology residency as well as assistant dean of clinical affairs.  In addition, she is past president of Connecticut Dermatology Society.

Neal D. Bhatia, MD, FAAD, is interim program director and associate clinical professor at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center and works in private practice in Long Beach, Calif.  He serves on several Academy committees as well as on editorial boards, advisory boards and other dermatology societies. 

Sheila Fallon Friedlander, MD, FAAD, is a professor of clinical pediatrics and dermatology at the University of California, San Diego. She is director of the fellowship training program in pediatric dermatology at Rady Children’s Hospital/UCSD. In addition, she is president of the Society for Pediatric Dermatology. 

Celebrating 75 years of advocating for dermatologic research and quality patient care
The American Academy of Dermatology (Academy), founded in 1938, is the largest, most influential, and most representative of all dermatologic associations. A sister organization to the Academy, the American Academy of Dermatology Association is the resource for government affairs, health policy and practice information for dermatologists, and plays a major role in formulating policies that can enhance the quality of dermatologic care. With a membership of more than 17,000 physicians worldwide, the Academy is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin. For more information, contact the Academy at 1-888-462-DERM (3376) or Follow the Academy on Facebook (American Academy of Dermatology) or Twitter (@AADskin).