Shade structure grant recipients

Current estimates are that one in five Americans will develop skin cancer in their lifetime. The American Academy of Dermatology has awarded shade structure grants to 26 schools and non-profit organizations across the country in order to protect children and adolescents from the sun's harmful rays.

Since its launch in 2000, the AAD's Shade Structure Grant Program has awarded 350 shade structure grants, which provide shade for nearly 650,000 individuals each day. The following listing includes names of organizations that were awarded Shade Structure Grants in 2017, and the dermatologists who sponsored these efforts. Each organization listed will receive a grant of up to $8,000 to use toward the construction of a permanent shade structure.

2017 AAD Shade Structure Grant Program recipients and AAD member sponsors:


Douglas Elementary School, Douglas, Alabama
Sponsored by Joshua B. Wharton, MD, FAAD

Donaldson Elementary PTO, Tucson, Arizona
Sponsored by Alan J. Levin, MD, FAAD

Imperial Elementary School, Anaheim, California
Sponsored by Cheryl L. Effron, MD, FAAD

Self-Help Enterprises Affordable Housing Community of Village de Guadalupe, Orosi, California
Sponsored by Joy T. Torakawa, MD, FAAD

Shasta Family YMCA, Redding, California
Sponsored by Elizabeth Gardner Stratte, MD, FAAD

Fountain International Magnet School, Pueblo, Colorado
Sponsored by Krystal J. Holderness-Nakamura, MD, FAAD

Achievement and Rehabilitation Centers, Inc., Sunrise, Florida
Sponsored by Jerome R. Obed, DO, FAAD

Branches, Inc. – Florida City Campus, Florida City, Florida
Sponsored by Judith E. Crowell, MD, FAAD

Galileo School for Gifted Learning, Sanford, Florida
Sponsored by Jeffrey G. Moskowitz, MD, FAAD

Imagine South Lake Charter School, Clermont, Florida
Sponsored by Joseph A. Shirer, MD, FAAD

Palencia Elementary School, Saint Augustine, Florida
Sponsored by Christina Brennan, MD, FAAD

Vaugh Elementary School, Powder Springs, Georgia
Sponsored by Jared Samuel Friedman, MD, FAAD

J. Turner Hood Elementary, North Reading, Massachusetts
Sponsored by Charles R. Taylor, MD, FAAD

New York
Bnos Leah Prospect Park, Brooklyn, New York
Sponsored by Sara Leah Tarsis, MD, FAAD

The Friends of the Salamanca Youth Center, Inc., Salamanca, New York
Sponsored by Michael Nazareth, MD, PhD, FAAD

North Carolina
ABC of NC, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Sponsored by John G. Albertini, MD, FAAD

Eden Family YMCA, Eden, North Carolina
Sponsored by Stuart Tafeen, MD, FAAD

The Alice Aycock Poe Center for Health Education, Raleigh, North Carolina
Sponsored by Margaret Brown Boyse, MD, FAAD

Tishomingo Development Team, Tishomingo, Oklahoma
Sponsored by Michael G. McCauley, MD, FAAD

South Carolina
Chapin Intermediate School, Chapin, South Carolina
Sponsored by Allison L. Cashman, MD, FAAD

Cross Schools, Bluffton, South Carolina
Sponsored by Carmen A. Traywick, MD, FAAD

River Ridge Academy, Bluffton, South Carolina
Sponsored by Carmen A. Traywick, MD, FAAD

Faith Family Academy Charter Schools, Waxahachie, Texas
Sponsored by Andrew Paul Word, MD, FAAD

Newton Rayzor Elementary, Denton, Texas
Sponsored by Cynthia R. Harrington, MD, FAAD

Reagan Elementary School, Cedar Park, Texas
Sponsored by Shwol-Huo Kiang, DO, FAAD

South Knoll Elementary PTO, College Station, Texas
Sponsored by Rachel Ruth L. Moore, MD, FAAD

More program winners

View a map of all shade structure grant program recipient locations