ICD-10-CM resource center

ICD-10 banner rv

On Oct. 1, 2015, physicians were required to start reporting patient diagnoses and submitting claims using the ICD-10 code set. Physician practices, hospitals, Medicare, Medicaid, private payers, and clearinghouses are all required to use this code set.

Failure to use the new code set will result in significant financial disruption because, after Oct. 1, 2015, claims filed using ICD-9 after will be denied as unprocessable. 

CMS announced that for 12 months following the Oct. 1, 2015, implementation deadline, Medicare claims will not be denied if providers use the wrong ICD-10 code, as long as the code is in the right category. Learn more about CMS' leniency policy.

Browse the resources below to help you successfully transition to the ICD-10 coding system. 

Join the coding community
Documentation examples Quick Coder

Free ICD-10 resources

Physicians can contact their Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) or monitor their website for information on problems with ICD-10. Also, you can email the ICD-10 ombudsman Dr. WIlliam Rodgers at ICD10_Ombudsman@cms.hhs.gov.

Check the state Medicaid website for information about ICD-10 implementation and contact information.

Commercial payers
Check payers' website for information about ICD-10 implementation and contact information.

Any issues with practice management systems, EHRs, billing vendors, or clearinghouses should be directed to the company.