Nominations open for $25,000 innovative research award

Headshot_Bill_Eaglstein.JPGBy William H. Eaglstein, MD
Click on the image above to access a larger version.

Member, Selection Panel


Do you know someone who has developed or created an innovative therapy that will result in better care and/or more treatment alternatives for dermatology patients? Perhaps they’ve taken something that was already known and applied it in a new way. For example, they may have introduced a new use for an existing therapy or technology, one that may even have originated outside of dermatology. They may have combined elements of known therapies to provide a novel new therapy or have created something totally new that impacts dermatology patients. If so, consider nominating them for the Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin and Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture.

Now in its 10th year, this Award/Lecture honors Eugene J. Van Scott, MD, a distinguished leader in dermatology well known for his interest in innovation in medicine. During his time as branch chief for dermatology at the National Cancer Institute (NCI), Dr. Van Scott influenced many young researchers, including Phillip Frost, MD, who would later create this Award/Lecture to honor his mentor.

One of the most prestigious awards offered by the AAD, the recipient receives $25,000 and presents a lecture during the plenary session at the AAD’s Annual Meeting. In this way, innovators are recognized and their novel therapies, as well as the stories behind them, are brought to the forefront, broadening the knowledge of dermatologists and benefitting patients worldwide. This sharing of knowledge, according to Dr. Van Scott, may also “stimulate the minds of people who will make great discoveries in the future”.

Nominations for the 2018 Award/Lecture must be submitted by Friday, October 14, 2016. Submit your nomination at For questions, call (847) 240-1427 or email

nominate now

Related article