Help dermatology secure a historic public health victory: Support the under-18 indoor tanning ban

rubin_adam.jpgBy Adam I. Rubin, MD

The Academy recently played a powerful role in urging the FDA to take a monumental step in the fight against skin cancer. In December 2015, we witnessed the success of our advocacy efforts when the FDA released a proposal that would place an age restriction on access to indoor tanning for those under 18 years of age. 

The proposal also includes a provision that adults using tanning beds would be required to sign a consent form acknowledging the serious health risks of this activity. This is an important step toward educating the public about the dangers associated with indoor tanning.

stopskincancer_banner_240x300.jpgIn the proposal, the FDA recognized the leadership of the AAD on skin cancer prevention, noting that the AAD “recognizes WHO’s declaration that sunlamp products are cancer-causing agents and are in the same risk category as tobacco, and supports the position that minors should not use sunlamp products.”

The AADA’s advocacy and leadership have successfully secured indoor tanning restriction laws in more than 42 states – demonstrating the widespread recognition about the harms associated with indoor tanning. We all should be pleased to see the federal government following suit with what could be a major factor in reducing skin cancer rates in the U.S.

We are so close to securing what would be a historic victory for public health! We are asking all AAD members, as well as the public, to lend your voice in support of this national age restriction for indoor tanning. 

The Academy has created a website that allows you to easily submit a letter to the FDA to support the proposal.  We strongly urge you to encourage your patients to submit a letter as well. 

Submit a letter to the FDA

The FDA is accepting letters until March 21, 2016, at 5 p.m. (ET). Please submit your letter today and help us secure this landmark victory!

Dr. Rubin is chair of the Academy’s Regulatory Policy Committee.