ICD-10-CM resource center

ICD-10 banner rv


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) issued a rule finalizing Oct. 1, 2015 as the new compliance date for healthcare providers, health plans, and health care clearinghouses to transition to ICD-10. Dermatology alone is moving from 9,000+ ICD-9 codes to more than 22,000 codes in ICD-10.

AAD offers a wealth of resources to help members make a successful transition.

ICD-10 resources:

aad_coding_today_100 AADCodingToday: a new subscription-based electronic coding software.
webinar.png Listing of on-demand and live webinars on coding topics.
ICD-10 crosswalk Link the most frequently used ICD-9-CM codes to corresponding ICD-10-CM codes.
dialogues_logo Dialogues in Dermatology: The Road to ICD-10 features Mark Kaufmann, MD, and Murad Alam, MD, co-chairs of the ICD-10 Workgroup, giving ICD-10-CM background information as well as tips for a successful, seamless ICD-10-CM transition.
ICD_10_ebook 2015 ICD-10-CM Coding for Dermatology eBook: Prepare for a successful transition to the new ICD-10-CM coding system with this easy-to-use ICD-10 coding resource, complete with official coding guidelines and reporting instructions.
For more information, or for answers to specific coding and reimbursement questions, email AAD's Manager of Coding and Reimbursement Faith McNicholas, RHIT, CPC, CPCD, PCS, CDC, at fmcnicholas@aad.org.

ICD-10 countdown

Q: What changes can I expect when using the new ICD-10-CM codes?

A: ICD-10-CM is not just an update of ICD-9-CM codes. It is a restructuring of the diagnosis classification system with a significant increase in the number of codes, expanded code lengths, and narrative descriptions, allowing for greater granularity. Dermatology alone is moving from 9,000+ ICD-9-CM codes to more than 22,000+ codes in ICD-10-CM.

Q: When is the ICD-10-CM compliance deadline?

A: The compliance deadline for ICD-10-CM is Oct. 1, 2015. All Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)-covered entities with transactions that have dates of service on or after Oct. 1, 2015 must be submitted using ICD-10-CM.

Q: What does ICD-10-CM compliance mean?

A: ICD-10-CM compliance means that all HIPAA-covered entities must implement ICD-10-CM for use in standard electronic transactions (including but not limited to claims) for health care services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2015.

Q: Who is affected by the transition to ICD-10? If I don’t deal with Medicare claims, will I have to transition?

A: Everyone covered by HIPAA must use ICD-10-CM starting Oct. 1, 2015. This includes health care providers and payers who do not deal with Medicare claims. Organizations that are not covered by HIPAA, but use ICD-9-CM codes should be aware that their coding may become obsolete if they do not transition to ICD-10-CM.

Q: What happens if I don’t switch to ICD-10-CM?

A: If you don’t transition to ICD-10-CM, all your claims for all health care services performed on or after Oct. 1, 2015, will not be processed, therefore risking claim denials.NOTE: Claims for services provided before Oct. 1, 2015, must use ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes.