Lila and Murray Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award and Lectureship

The Lila and Murray Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award is one of the largest and most prestigious medical awards, made possible by a gift from Murray Gruber in memory of his wife.

The purpose of this award is to encourage participation in cancer research and to provide a forum for the enrichment of knowledge of dermatologists in this important scientific field. At the discretion of the task force, the award may be divided between two worthy nominees.​

Award: A cash award of $10,000 will be made in recognition of the investigator's lifetime achievements in the field of cancer research. Additionally, the recipient will present a lecture during the Plenary session at the Academy's Annual Meeting.


  • The recipient may be a physician or non-physician scientist of national or international stature whose contributions in the field of cancer research have been outstanding in importance and distinction.
  • The recipient should be a recognized expert whose contributions in the field of cancer research have been outstanding in practice and distinction.
  • The award must be accepted in person and will be presented during the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Dermatology.
  • The recipient must have excellent and proven communication skills.


  • About Dr. Gruber

    In 1951, Murray Gruber developed the first crude coal tar shampoo on the market. Thus was born Dermik Laboratories, an innovative pharmaceutical company specializing in dermatologicals.

    In 1972, Murray Gruber established the Lila and Murray Gruber Cancer Research Award to honor the memory of his first wife, as well as his dedication to dermatology. He entered into an agreement with the AAD to endow a permanent annual lectureship. These lectureships create a forum for presentations to the Academy by outstanding cancer research specialists.

    In 1980, the AAD honored Murray Gruber by awarding him the Presidential Citation in recognition of his contribution to dermatology.

    Murray Gruber, an honorary member of the AAD, died on Jan. 10, 2012 at the age of 94. He is survived by his wife, Helen, and three children, Barry Gruber, Daryl Kulok, and Sharon Draghi.

  • Application timeline
    Nominations submitted on or before January 15 will be included in the selection cycle for current year. Nominations submitted after January 15 will be held for the following cycle. Nominations remain active in the selection cycle for five years.
  • Past recipients
    2014: Lynda Chin, MD
    2013: Martin A. Weinstock, MD, PhD, FAAD

    2012: Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

    2011: W. Marston Linehan, MD

    2010: Michael R. Stratton, MD

    2009: John Mendelsohn, MD

    2008: Ian H. Frazer, PhD

    2007: Errol C. Friedberg, MD

    2006: Carol W. Greider, MD, PhD

    2005: Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD

    2004: Eric S. Lander, PhD

    2003: Stanley Korsmeyer, MD

    2002: Douglas R. Lowy, MD

    2001: David M. Livingston, MD

    2000: Alfred Knudson, Jr., MD, PhD

    1999: Richard D. Klausner, MD

    1998: Mary-Claire King, PhD

    1997: Edward H. Harlowe, Jr., PhD

    1996: Bert Vogelstein, MD

    1995: Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD

    1993: Erkki Ruoslahit, MD

    1992: Arnold J. Levine, MD

    1991: Lance A. Liotta, MD, PhD

    1990: Robert A. Weinberg, MD

    1989: Stuart H. Yuspa, MD

    1988: Robert T. Schmike, MD

    1987: Philip Leder, MD

    1986: Thomas A. Waldermann, MD

    1985: J. Michael Bishop, MD

    1985: Harald Zur Hausen, MD

    1984: Margaret L. Kripke, PhD

    1984: Robert C. Gallo, MD

    1983: Wallace H. Clark, Jr., MD

    1983: Stanley Cohen, PhD

    1982: Werner Bollag, MD

    1982: Michael B. Sporn, MD

    1981: Howard M. Temin, PhD

    1980: Eugene Joseph Van Scott, MD, FAAD

    1980: Howard Green, MD

    1979: Emil Frei, III, MD

    1979: Gerald Weissman, MD

    1978: Hermann Pinkus, MD

    1978: Henry Kaplan, MD

    1977: Frederic E. Mohs, MD

    1977: Bert W. O'Malley, MD

    1976: James E. Cleaver, PhD

    1976: Charles Heidelberger, PhD

    1975: H. Sherwood Lawrence, MD

    1975: K. Frank Austen, MD

    1974: Robert A. Good, MD, PhD

    1974: Judah Folkman, MD

    1973: Jaques Monod

    1972: Sol Spigelman, PhD

  • Questions
    Contact Tracy A. Farhan at or (847) 240-1485.