Donate For Public and Patients Store Search

Go to AAD Home

Innovations in Quality Improvement Award

The AAD is offering an award to recognize dermatologists who are leaders in innovative quality improvement (QI) efforts in dermatology. The purpose of the award is to encourage the adoption of meaningful QI practices in dermatology in order to improve patient care. The recipient will receive a $1,000 prize, free registration, and one night’s hotel stay for the Annual Meeting. The recipient will be presented with a commemorative plaque and an opportunity for a short lecture at the QI Symposium at AAD's Annual Meeting.

Innovations in Quality Improvement Award

Select the button below to access the online application form for the award.

Apply now
  • Timeline
  • Eligibility
  • Award review criteria
  • July 22, 2020: Application Opens

    September 13, 2020: Application Deadline

    December 2020: Awardees selected

    April 2021: Awardees present projects during AAD’s VMX

    Any active United States-based Fellow member who has successfully completed QI projects may submit findings from a single project or body of work to the Academy for consideration for the award. Applications require the following information:

    1. Area of focus for QI/Problem statement

    2. QI tools/methods used

    3. Measure of progress or outcomes

    4. Project team

    5. Lessons learned

    All candidates will receive a score of 0-5 in each of the following categories:

    • Strength of project design

    • Significance of problem

    • Impact on quality or safety

    • Novel or innovative approaches, tools, or technologies

    • Overall assessment