04 February 2011

Anton Stuetz, PhD, receives Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin

NEW ORLEANS (Feb. 4, 2011) —The American Academy of Dermatology (Academy) today awarded Anton Stuetz, PhD, with the 2011 Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin at its 69th Annual Meeting. In conjunction with this award, Dr. Stuetz also presented the Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture at the plenary session of the Academy’s Annual Meeting.

Dr. Stuetz is executive director of dermatology, with the Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research (NIBR) in Vienna, Austria. NIBR is the global pharmaceutical research organization for Novartis committed to discovering innovative medicines that greatly impact human health, including those that treat rare and neglected diseases.

Dr. Stuetz’s award recognizes his tremendous advancements in developing new medicines for the treatment of skin diseases. Dr. Stuetz was the leader of the team that developed terbinafine in the 1980s, which has become the global standard for the treatment of fungal infections of the skin and nails, particularly onychomycosis. In addition, he oversaw the creation and development of the new non-steroids and topical calcineurin inhibitors, including the use of topical tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for the treatment of atopic dermatitis.

During the Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture, Dr. Stuetz discussed recent research into VEGF (vascular endothelial growth factor) inhibitors and smoothened inhibitors for the treatment of additional skin diseases, including skin cancer.

At the Annual Meeting, Dr. Stuetz received the $15,000 Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin along with an additional $10,000 for the Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture. This award and lecture were made possible by a generous donation from Phillip Frost, MD, FAAD, emeritus clinical professor of dermatology at the University of Miami School of Medicine and former chairman of the dermatology department at Mt. Sinai Medical Center in Miami Beach, Fla. Dr. Frost named the award after his mentor, Eugene J. Van Scott, MD, FAAD, a recognized dermatology researcher, with whom he worked at the National Institutes of Health early in his career.

Headquartered in Schaumburg, Ill., the American Academy of Dermatology (Academy), founded in 1938, is the largest, most influential, and most representative of all dermatologic associations. With a membership of more than 16,000 physicians worldwide, the Academy is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin, hair and nails. For more information, contact the Academy at (888) 462-DERM (3376) or